King’s Warrior – Coming Soon to an Amazon Store Near You!

King’s Warrior will be available for purchase at Amazon within the next week.

I would like to thank everyone who helped make this possible. I have the best family and friends in the whole world. I love you guys!

I will post an update as soon as the book officially goes “live” but it should be in the next 4-6 days.

To any fans: thank you for your patience. It’s been a long process, but I think the finished product is worth the wait and all the effort and time that went into it.

~ jenelle

He Whistles for the Cricket

I’m not sure where to categorize this: sort of a “featured artist” post I guess.

 Today’s post is about one of my all-time favorite books: He Whistles for the Cricket by Gwen Walker (my grandma).

My Grandma Walker wrote a book (yes, I come by my writing skills honestly) before she died called “He Whistles for the Cricket.” This book is a sort of family heirloom, as there are only 6 copies in existence. I had borrowed my parents’ copy a couple of years ago, and realized this past Spring that it was really time to get it typed up into soft-copy, because the original was beginning to fall apart.

I started the endeavor in mid-March, and it took me a few months to get all the typing done. Partially because life is busy and finding time to do this was difficult, partially because I had other writing projects I was working on at the same time, and partially because of the miscarriage in April.

You really get to know someone when you copy their words. Moreso than when you just read them. You focus a lot more on their style of writing and putting things, you see/read every word without skimming or skipping at all. Typing this book during one of the most difficult periods of my life was such a huge encouragement as I got to dwell in the words and thoughts of my grandma. She saw things very simply, very clearly, and she wrote them beautifully.

Another thing I’ve always wanted to do is get this book published for my family. So, I asked Angelina if she would collaborate with me and paint a cover for the book so we could publish through createspace and give it to my family as a Christmas present. The final result?


How awesome is that?

The book is about a young girl living in the mid-West in the early 1940s. Although the story is fictional, most of the events and characters are drawn from my Grandma’s own history and people she knew. It is a charming story about several families and how one little girl, Miriam, and her dog, Moses, touched and changed their lives. At 160 pages, it is a quick read, and one that the entire family can enjoy reading out loud together. In the vein of books like “Where the Red Fern Grows” or “Bridge to Terebithia” this book is one of my all-time favorites, not just because my grandma wrote it, but because she wrote it so well.

~ jenelle

Poetry Corner: Best Friends

Another song, this one is from my own experiences growing up in my family. What can I say? The holidays are here… a time for sweet memories and flickering candlelight.

My Best Friends
Helping Mommy in the kitchen, licking out the bowl;
When we got an owie, Mommy’s kiss could make us whole;
Wrestling with Daddy, after dishes were done,
Dancing in the living room, memories of fun.

Family bonds
Of love so strong
Growing up together
Made us friends forever
Brothers and sister, my best friends

Running through the sprinkler or playing make-believe
Baseball in the back yard, and climbing up tall trees,
Eating supper together, every single night
Daddy reading stories before turning out the lights.

Family bonds
Of love so strong
Growing up together
Made us friends forever
Brothers and sister, my best friends

And though we grow and live miles apart
These memories always live in my heart
They make me stop, they make me smile
Reminding me for just a while

Family bonds
Of love so strong
Growing up together
Made us friends forever
Brothers and sister, my best friends

And now we’ve grown, we’re miles apart
Sweet memories stay alive in my heart
And though I know childhood must end
I’m never alone, nor without friends

~ jenelle

Poetry Corner: Sky Fall Away

I much prefer writing song lyrics to just writing poetry. This is a realization I have come to in the past few years. I love writing poetry, but hearing my words turned into music is just one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever experienced.

This is another song that Brittany commissioned a while back. Another one I don’t know if she ever got around to writing music for… but hopefully someday!

This song is based on the story of Chicken Little… but with a twist…

Sky Fall Away
On his head the acorn fell we know the story well
What if that little chicken was too afraid to tell?
Perhaps a lot of others, would not have gotten scared
They also wouldn’t know how much their king really cared.

[chorus]
Sky, fall away, send us running to our King
He will calm our hearts and all fears we may bring.
So sky, fall away, fall away, fall away, fall away

Troubles bring us fears and doubts with questions like, “Why me?”
Caught up in our moment, we can find it hard to see
That big or small, real or imagined, with everything
Like that little chicken we should run straight to the King.

[bridge]
Time and again, in our lives,
We hesitate to do what’s right
Terrified that no one cares
That no one listens to our prayers

[chorus]
Sky, fall away, send us running to our King
He will calm our hearts and all fears we may bring.
So sky, fall away, fall away, fall away

~ jenelle